Skip to content

Re-collect my distracted heart

September 11, 2012

Gathering My Scattered Thoughts

 

Today, O Lord, please help me to gather my scattered thoughts.

Cause me to be centered in the midst of many responsibilities and relationships.

 

Empower me to step back from the tyranny of the urgent and the empty pursuit of busyness.

Enable me, O God, to re-collect my distracted heart.

 

Throughout the day let me focus my eyes and inner attentiveness on you.

May I abide in your life-giving nearness that surrounds me in creation and enfolds me in the people with whom you have graced my life.

 

Please bring wholeness to the fragmentation of my life.

Restore integration to the many activities and demands on my time.

 

May I be present to you, O Lord,

May I sense the firmness of your abiding love for me that never leaves me or forsakes me.

May I be aware of your sustaining strength that surrounds me in all that I do.

 

O Lord, help me to remain recollected as I go into the movement of this day.

As I engage with people and tasks, let a deeper level of my being remain ever attentive to you.

 

Amen.

 

“In the middle of watching God move so powerfully and seeing 1000’s of Jesus People gathering every night and every day of the week, to learn the Word of God, Worship Him, Cry out to Him and bear one another’s burdens, I find myself incredibly excited yet very busy and scattered in thoughts. The Beauty of God includes His power to be my strength and yours in the midst of our weakness. I can rest in His arms. Be near to Him and let Him help you gather your thoughts. Let Him fill you up. Stay in His Word Daily. Pray to Him all day and night. Get alone and worship Him every day with all of your heart, mind and strength. He is worthy of your time.” – Ethan Holub

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzanne permalink
    September 11, 2012 2:04 pm

    Thanks Ethan! That is exactly what I needed. God is good all the time. Life is better and more fulfilling when I focus on Him in everything I do.
    Have a great day!

  2. Scott Lamb permalink
    September 11, 2012 2:35 pm

    So how do we keep ourselves from busyness when our culture (even our church culture) exalts the busy and gives credence to those ministries who “have the most going on”. How do we encourage our people to slow down when our lives as pastors are the most hectic and we can be the hardest to reach. I have been. Challenged with the idea that vision is caught not taught. Our people may hear us say that there is beauty in simplicity, but until we can lay down our lives and begin to effectively shepherd people in this we will only produce disciples of our busyness.

  3. Jamie permalink
    September 11, 2012 4:06 pm

    Great word! It reminds me of a quote from Brother Lawrence. “The time of business does not with me differ from the time of prayer; and in the noise and clatter of my kitchen, while several persons are at the same time calling for different things, I possess God in as great tranquility as if I were upon my knees at the blessed sacrament.”
    Thank you for sharing this today. I really need to meditate on these thoughts this week.

  4. Chrissie McLain permalink
    September 30, 2012 9:15 am

    “Empower me to step back from the tyranny of the urgent and the empty pursuit of busyness.

    Enable me, O God, to re-collect my distracted heart.”–That was awesome! My prayer in this season of my life. Congratulations on your wedding! Wishing you both the best of happiness!!

Leave a Reply

