Skip to content

Ethan and Christine’s Marriage Covenant (Vows)

October 10, 2012

Here I am in Saint Lucia (St. Lucia) Caribbean (West Indies) Islands with my wife, sitting at the airport getting ready to fly to Martinique today. We are road tripping across 4 or 5 islands, renting cars on each island and traveling across them with expectation of adventure, divine appointments and intimacy with each other and God.  

This is a great life that God has given me. I am humbled, joyful and blessed that He, The one and only God, would entrust me with such an amazing human. I love her. I walk this path of being one with her, as her husband, with fear of God, Awe and a passion to stand true to my covenant with her and God. 

I seriously and passionately desire to be the example and reflection of God’s love and character, to her and the world, that God put us together for. That God would reveal Himself to her and the world through this covenant and relationship. 

I feel new. I truly feel like a new person. Deeper conviction, more serious commitment, willing and working to do and be the person God made me to be. This path is hard, beautiful, awesome and serious. God is my strength for all of it. He is my help to not be selfish and not use this relationship as a way of serving myself. He is why my feelings, circumstances, expectations, the emotion of “Love” and false hopes do not control my love for Christine. I will to work hard, believe and trust that God is enough to fulfill my every need in life. That God cares and is my fortress no matter what I am feeling. That my covenant with Christine and God is not based on ANY circumstance, but on my word to her and God’s Word to us.

 

Here is our marriage covenant, as many of you have wanted me to post. Love you all, pray for us and see you all by the end of the month. You 700+ people that witnessed our marriage, please hold us accountable to this marriage covenant we made to one another, before God. – Ethan Holub

 

 

 

Ethan’s covenant with Christine: 

  • Christine Bourke upon this earth you are:
    • My closest friend
    • My place of refuge and comfort
    • My most trusted advisor
    • My personal and awkward comedian
    • The most beautiful creature that lives
    • My strongest allie
    • The love of my life

 

  • Your selflessness humbles me
  • Your love for the poor, broken and lonely inspires me
  • Because of my love for you, I will love your cat and provide for her.
  • I will let you correct my grammar without getting upset at you.
  • I will let you choose non clashing outfits for me to wear sometimes and make every attempt to get rid of this belly for you.
  • I will place our best and most beautiful memories upon my heart at all times to remember our first love
  • I will help you search your heart, soul and mind for your purpose and gifts and then help equip you to use them.
  • I will push to love you stronger in the face of trials 
  • You are my best friend and know my heart and mind better than anyone on this planet, including me. 
  • I give my life to you

  

  • Therefore I make this covenant to you Christine and unto my God and before all these witnesses.
  • This is my covenant with and to you, as long as we both shall live:
    • I will be patient with you and kind 
    • I will fight against envy or jealousy in our marriage
    • I will seek to be humble in our relationship and not be boastful
    • I will keep no records of wrongs throughout our marriage
    • I will never delight in your suffering
    • I will always protect you and your name
    • I will always hope in what God can do with and thru us
    • I will always persevere in loving you no matter what the circumstances.
    • I will fight against resentment the moment it tries to sneak into our relationship
    • I will forgive you no matter what has happened and no matter who is at fault
    • I will care for you in sickness and in health
    • I will always rejoice in your joys and victories along side you
    • I will Love you and never leave you
    • Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.
    • Christine, you and me together with God can do anything

 

Christine’s covenant with Ethan 

Ethan Holub, I will follow your guidance and God’s wisdom through all our marriage brings, as I strive to give you the first fruits of my love. 

 

As our lives change with the years, I will be your best friend, strongest supporter, loudest cheerleader and most passionate lover through all life brings. 

 

In good times and bad, I vow to seek an abundance of joy so that it may overflow to you. 

 

I will seek God’s direction on how to challenge and encourage you to be all the Spirit has for you. It’s you, God and I, baby, forever.

 

You are my kindred spirit, my closest friend, my knight in shining armor, my personal comedian, my social butterfly, my travel guide.

 

You are my beloved and I am fully yours.

  

  • Therefore I make this covenant to you Ethan and unto my God and before all these witnesses.
  • This is my covenant with and to you, as long as we both shall live:
    • I will be patient with you and kind 
    • I will fight against envy or jealousy in our marriage
    • I will seek to be humble in our relationship and not be boastful
    • I will keep no records of wrongs throughout our marriage
    • I will never delight in your suffering
    • I will always protect you and your name
    • I will always hope in what God can do with and thru us
    • I will always persevere in loving you no matter what the circumstances.
    • I will fight against resentment the moment it tries to sneak into our relationship
    • I will forgive you no matter what has happened and no matter who is at fault
    • I will care for you in sickness and in health
    • I will always rejoice in your joys and victories along side you
    • I will Love you and never leave you
    • Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.
    • Ethan, you and me together with God can do anything

holub family_1.5×1.5the holubs_2.5×1.5EandC_1.5×1.5ethan and christine_2.5×1.333

One Comment leave one →
  1. Delrea P. permalink
    October 10, 2012 2:49 am

    I am so sorry I did not get to go to your wedding. I see the wonderful pictures popping in and it looked like the Lord granted you a fabulously loving day. Your vows inspire me, for one, that my daughter will be graced to find a love like that- like I’m reading and witnessing blogs and pictures that you and Christine have found, when the Lord is ready to show her, her forever love in a godly man. Two, my husband and I’s love for each other also as we will be celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary on Sunday and through all the years of hard trials and joy that the Lord was always there and we were always committed to each other supporting each other no matter what we were going through keeping our love strong. God Bless you both, and willbe praying for you both. Del

Leave a Reply

